Process Safety

Yokogawa provides process safety services to assist plant owners to meet their obligations to comply with the AS IEC 61511 Safety Lifecycle requirements, regardless of the lifecycle stages being examined. Whether it be from the preparation stage through to report finalisation, we work closely with our clients to ensure that all gaps are bridged and the activity is carried out as efficiently and smoothly as possible. The AS IEC 61511 Safety Lifecycle steps outlined in the detail tab provide an insight into the value that can be provided by partnering with an experienced, certified and established process safety organisation like Yokogawa. Browse through our comprehensive safety service offering to see how we can assist.

  • Hazard and Risk Assessment (HAZOPs)

    Hazards and Risk Assessment is the first step in the IEC 61511 Safety Lifecycle model. This is a critical activity as it identifies all potential hazards and operation issues in the current design, which may require further risk reduction.

    See More
  • Safety Integrity Level (SIL) Selection

    The challenges faced by facilities include accurately budgeting for process safety equipment and allowing for the protection of people and plant, while complying with government regulations. Following on from the Hazard and Risk Assessment, the identified SIFs are assigned a target measure of their reliability to perform the safety function in order to bring the risk to a tolerable level.

    See More
  • SIL Verification

    SIL selection ensures legislative safety requirements are met prior to final plant design — avoiding costly redesign and rework of the process safety system — by determining the intended SIS design meets all safety targets specified in the SIL selection workshops.

    See More
  • Safety Requirement Specification (SRS) Service

    Our Functional Safety Experts ensure that critical safety information from previous activities are correctly specified in the Safety Requirement Specifications. This step is equally important as it ensures that the SIS design can be carried out to correct specifications, taking into account all aspects of process safety relevant to the  hazards being protected against.

    See More
  • Safety Assessment and FSM Audit

    Functional Safety Assessments are mandatory to be carried out at 5 stages as per IEC 61511. Similarly, Functional Safety Audits are required to be carried out on plants’ FSM systems on a typically yearly basis.

    See More
  • Functional Safety Training

    Yokogawa Australia provides a broad range of Instructor led training courses to help customers enhance their knowledge and awareness of Yokogawa systems during different phases of project execution, as well as provide competency to control the process in a safe environment.

    See More


AS IEC 61511 -1 Overall Safety Lifecycle



Looking for more information on our people, technology and solutions?

Contact Us