采用CENTUM VP、VP Batch、Exaquantum和PRM的尖端生物制药厂

默克雪兰诺生物科技中心 logo
下载 (288 KB)

内容概要

Merck Serono Biotech Center, Vevey, Switzerland
瑞士沃韦默克雪兰诺生物技术中心

位于瑞士沃韦上科尔西耶的默克雪兰诺生物技术中心(MSBC)是默克雪兰诺生物技术制造和工艺开发中心。它生产的生物药物由大分子结构组成,例如使用重组DNA技术从活细胞中产生的蛋白质。MSBC自1999年开始运营以来,是世界上规模最大、技术最先进的生物技术中心之一,生产用于临床试验和商业阶段的生物技术产品,并且还从事高性能工艺的开发。

站点拥有特殊专业技术,可以培养从小型到大型的哺乳动物细胞,,并使用许多不同的技术平台。该站点当前生产的活性成分可用于默克雪兰诺多发性硬化症治疗、Rebif®(干扰素β-1a)和性癌症疗法Erbitux®(西妥昔单抗)。

为了完成世界范围内的单克隆抗体,如Erbitux®和其他生物制药的生产,该站点最近完成了一个扩大产能的扩展项目。新设施包括一个上游工厂(USP)、一个下游工厂(DSP)、一个为生产提供水、空气和蒸汽等清洁介质的公用设施区以及一个现场废水处理厂。这个新的大型生物技术(LSB)生产工厂,位于德国拉廷根。横河德国在这个项目中安装了CENTUM VP生产控制系统、VP批处理软件包、Exaquantum/Batch工厂信息管理系统、PRM工厂资源管理软件包以及2,000多个FOUNDATION™现场总线设备和近6,500个PROFIBUS™控制阀。横河德国瑞士办事处(成立于1999年)协助这个项目做了很多的支持工作,与当地的工程和服务合作伙伴建立了战略伙伴关系,默克雪兰诺随后与该瑞士办事处签订了生命周期维护协议。

Operator guided by electronic batch record (EBR) at USP 1   Operator guided by electronic batch record (EBR) at USP 2
通过USP进行电子批次记录(EBR)工作的操作员

客户面临的挑战和我们的解决方案

1. 通过整体系统集成实现LSB生产
默克雪兰诺的目标是建立“从小瓶到散装的集成化电子工厂”,这需要将ERP到自动化系统的过程进行全面计算机化。在这个高度先进的制药工厂中使用了许多不同种类的软件包,并且带有PROFIBUS接口的PLC等各种系统都与工厂的核心自动化系统——CENTUM VP集成在一起。

带有大量参数的配方均通过VP Batch软件包进行管理,并通过顺序功能图(SFC)在系统中配置清晰的过程顺序。根据不同的多种图形显示,操作员可以快速识别批处理特定阶段的当前状态。因此,操作员可以在该设施中随时随地一目了然、先知先觉、慎思密行。

Exaquantum/Batch可以从每个批处理操作中采集生产数据,生成美国联邦法规21 CFR Part 11要求的自动化批处理报告。这样操作员可以清楚地看到每个批处理活动的结果。该软件包与制造执行系统(MES)交换有关材料管理、分配、细胞培养、纯化和全面质量管理的重要数据。数据还用于分析产品质量并检查每次操作的效率,这对于实现卓越的运营至关重要。所有可视化的生产数据还可以改善水、电和其他资源的使用。

2. 计算机化系统验证
为制药公司提供产品和工程服务的自动化系统供应商必须遵循良好的制作流程程序(GMP),支持计算机化系统验证(CSV)。为此,默克雪兰诺公司对横河德国进行了审核,以评估其GMP符合性。横河德国实施了质量和培训体系,该体系与经审核的良好自动化生产规范(GAMP5)程序的第5版一致。默克雪兰诺(Merck Serono)审核了质量体系,并对取得的成果表示非常满意。

3. 资产管理
在这个复杂的LSB生产工厂中,对数千个FOUNDATION现场总线设备和PROFIBUS控制阀的持续维护是确保精确测量和控制的关键。横河电机的PRM软件包在工厂启动阶段用于检查回路、参数和不同类型的控制阀(每个都有不同的特性),并诊断设备。这样可以采取主动的维护方法并安排现场设备检查的时间。另外,由于可以使用PRM在线监视所有设备数据,因此可以在的现场工作人员较少的情况下操作工厂。

客户满意度

默克雪兰诺项目总监AndéOvermeyer博士说:“我们的工厂采用非常复杂的批处理工艺,始终需要灵活的生产。这个LSB项目是一个世界级项目,我们需要世界一流的供应商。在沃韦工厂中使用了许多软件包,并使用了许多不同的系统。所以,我们一直在寻找方法来处理尽可能多的自动化过程。核心过程控制系统是横河电机的CENTUM VP,并且所有系统都需要与之集成。该系统连接到MES来发送和接收对于物料管理、分配、细胞培养、纯化和质量管理来说必不可少的数据。我们对CENTUM VP的高可靠性和横河电机的大力支持感到非常满意。横河电机是我们在过程自动化和软件工程方面的优秀合作伙伴之一。”

默克雪兰诺公司的电子工厂经理尼古拉斯·马丁先生克莱门特(Nicolas Martin Clement)先生接着说:“我们在沃韦工厂的目标是要成为一个‘从小瓶到散装的集成化电子工厂’。我们将继续努力实现自动化的工厂运营,从而实现对环境影响更小的高效率运转。在这个‘集成化电子工厂’中,工程师和操作员可以随时随地访问工厂过程中发生的有关情况信息,从而可以快速、及时地做出决定。”

Yokogawa engineering team proudly celebrates the project success before Christmas 2010

横河电机工程团队在2010年圣诞节前自豪地庆祝项目成功

行业

相关产品&解决方案

CENTUM VP

CENTUM VP有一个简单而通用的结构,包括人机界面、现场控制站和控制网络。

工厂资源管理系统(PRM)

工厂资源管理系统(PRM)是用于横河电机资产卓越的一个关键平台。该平台旨在改进操作和维护,通过获得更大的可预测性,使工厂资产的可靠性和可用性最大化。

批处理数据记录系统(Exaquantum/Batch)

Exaquantum/Batch是基于ISA-88标准的智能批处理信息系统。可以提供验证分析和报表工具,用于采集、保存和显示批处理生产、设备和处方管理的当前和历史数据。

数据记录系统(Exaquantum)

Exaquantum可以从过程工业的各个方面获取过程数据,并转换为易用、高价值、广泛发布的信息。Exaquantum是横河电机大多数OES的基础。

集散控制系统(DCS)

横河电机的集散控制系统(DCS)使工业过程实现了自动化控制,并增强了业务性能。超过10000家工厂采用横河DCS来实现他们的生产目标。

×

Have Questions?

Contact a Yokogawa Expert to learn how we can help you solve your challenges.

置顶
WeChat QR Code
横河电机(中国)有限公司

Highly Advanced Biopharmaceutical Plant Uses CENTUM VP, VP Batch, Exaquantum and PRM

Merck Serono Biotech Center logo
Download (288 KB)

Executive Summary

Merck Serono Biotech Center, Vevey, Switzerland
Merck Serono Biotech Center, Vevey, Switzerland

The Merck Serono Biotech Center (MSBC) in Corsier-sur-Vevey, Switzerland, is the center of Biotech Manufacturing & Process Development of Merck Serono. It produces biopharmaceuticals, which are composed of large molecular structures such as proteins that are created from live cells using recombinant DNA technology. Operational since 1999, the MSBC is one of the largest and most technologically advanced biotech centers in the world, producing biotech products for clinical trials and commercial phases, and is also engaged in the development of high-performance processes.

This site has particular expertise from small to large scale mammalian cell culture technologies, and uses many different technology platforms. The site currently produces the active ingredient for Merck Serono's multiple sclerosis treatment, Rebif® (interferon beta-1a) and for the targeted cancer therapy Erbitux® (cetuximab).

An expansion project to increase capacity at the site was recently completed in order to allow for world-scale production of monoclonal antibodies as Erbitux® and other biopharmaceuticals. The new facility is comprised of an upstream plant (USP), a downstream plant (DSP), a utility area for supplying clean media as water, air and steam for the production and moreover an on-site waste water treatment plant. For this new large-scale biotech (LSB) production facility, Yokogawa Deutschland GmbH of Ratingen, Germany installed the CENTUM VP production control system, VP Batch package, Exaquantum/Batch plant information management system, and PRM plant resource management package along with more than 2,000 FOUNDATION™ fieldbus devices and nearly 6,500 PROFIBUS™ control valves. To assist in this undertaking, Yokogawa Deutschland enlisted the support of its Swiss branch office (established in 1999) and also entered into strategic partnerships with local engineering and service partners. Merck Serono later concluded a lifecycle maintenance agreement with this Swiss office.

Operator guided by electronic batch record (EBR) at USP 1   Operator guided by electronic batch record (EBR) at USP 2
Operator guided by electronic batch record (EBR) at USP

The Challenges and the Solutions

1. Total system integration for LSB production
Merck Serono's target was to have an "integrated e-plant from vial to bulk," necessitating the complete computerization of processes from ERP to automation system. Many different kinds of software packages are used in this highly advanced pharmaceutical facility, and various systems like PLCs with PROFIBUS interfaces are integrated with CENTUM VP, the plant's core automation system.

Recipes with numerous parameters are all managed using the VP Batch package, and clean in process sequences are configured in the system by means of the sequential function chart (SFC) function. Many different graphic displays allow operators to identify at a glance the current status of a particular phase of a batch process. Operators are thus able to see clearly, know in advance, and act with agility at any time and place in this facility.

Production data from every batch operation is collected by Exaquantum/Batch for the generation of automation batch reports required under 21 CFR Part 11 of the US Code of Federal Regulations. This allows operators to see clearly the result of each batch activity. This package exchanges important data with the manufacturing execution system (MES) relating to material management, dispensing, cell cultures, purification, and total quality management. The data is also used to analyze the quality of the products and to check the efficiency of every operation, which is essential for the achievement of operational excellence. The visualization of all production data also allows improvements in the usage of water, electricity, and other resources.

2. Computerized systems validation
Automation system vendors that supply products and/or engineering services to pharmaceutical companies that follow good manufacturing process (GMP) procedures are required to support computerized systems validation (CSV). Toward this end, Merck Serono audited Yokogawa Deutschland to assess its GMP compliance. Yokogawa Deutschland has implemented quality and training system that complied with revision 5 of the good automated manufacturing practice (GAMP5) procedures audited. Merck Serono audited the quality system and indicated complete satisfaction with the results that were achieved.

3. Asset management
The ongoing maintenance of the thousands of FOUNDATION fieldbus devices and PROFIBUS control valves installed at this complex LSB production facility is key to ensuring accurate measurement and control. Yokogawa's PRM package was utilized at the plant start-up stage to check loops, parameters, and the different types of control valves (each with different characteristics), and to diagnose devices. This allows for a proactive maintenance approach and the scheduling of field device checks. Also, as all device data can be monitored online using PRM, the plant can be operated with a smaller field workforce.

Customer Satisfaction

Dr. Andé Overmeyer, Project Director Merck Serono, said, "Our plant employs very complicated batch process and flexible production is required at all times. This LSB project was a world-scale and world-class project, and we needed world-class suppliers. Many packages are used and many different systems are located all over the Vevey plant. So we are always looking for ways to automate processes as much as possible. The core process control system is Yokogawa's CENTUM VP, and all systems are required to integrate with it. This system is connected to the MES to send and receive data essential for material management, dispensing, cell cultures, purification, and quality management. We are very happy with CENTUM VP because of its high reliability and good support from Yokogawa. Yokogawa is one of our best partners for process automation and software engineering."

Mr. Nicolas Martin Clement, ePlant Manager Merck Serono, went on to say, "Our target for the Vevey facility is for it to be an 'integrated e-plant from vial to bulk.' We continue to strive to automate plant operations and make this a highly efficient operation that has less of an impact on the environment. In this 'integrated e-plant,' engineers and operators have ready access at any location to information on what is going on with the plant processes and can thus make quick and timely decisions."

Yokogawa engineering team proudly celebrates the project success before Christmas 2010

Yokogawa engineering team proudly celebrates
the project success before Christmas 2010

Industries

Related Products & Solutions

Batch Data Historian (Exaquantum/Batch)

Exaquantum/Batch is an intelligent ISA-88 Batch Information System. It provides verified analysis and reporting facilities that collect, store and display current and historical data from batch production, equipment and recipe viewpoints.

CENTUM VP

CENTUM VP has a simple & common architecture consisting of human machine interfaces, field control stations, and a control network.

Data Historian (Exaquantum)

Exaquantum is one of the most comprehensive Plant Information Management Systems (PIMS) available for process industries. Exaquantum can acquire data from all facets of a process and transform that data into easily usable, high-value, widely distributed information. Exaquantum forms the basis of most Yokogawa OES.

Plant Resource Manager (PRM)

Plant Resource Manager (PRM) is a key platform for the Yokogawa VigilantPlant Asset Excellence initiative which aims to improve operations and maintenance and maximize the reliability and availability of plant assets by achieving greater predictability.

Distributed Control System (DCS)

Yokogawa delivers critical operational infrastructure for process automation. Our distributed control system (DCS) enables automation and control of industrial processes and enhanced business performance. Over 10,000 plants entrust Yokogawa DCS to deliver their production goals.

×

Have Questions?

Contact a Yokogawa Expert to learn how we can help you solve your challenges.

Top